Chocolate, Peanut Butter…What’s Not to Love

As we all know by now, I have an innate fear of cooking food that T doesn’t like.  That being said, last Sunday I was in the mood to bake.  I wanted to try something new as I easily get tired of the regular goodies and spend so much time on Pinterest that I wanted to try one of those many recipes that I’ve pinned.  While I like all sweets (fruit and non-fruit alike) in order for anything to be eating in my house (by someone other than me), it has to involve chocolate on some level.  I was also restricted by the fact that I had limited resources in the house (I don’t normally stock the house for baked goods in the summer) and we live in a town with very limited options for groceries on Sunday and I didn’t feel like venturing out of my house!  So, I went through all my recipes and found these: Peanut Butter Chocolate Oatmeal Bars from Crunchy, Creamy, Sweet.  They were easy to make and baked up well.  The only thing I would say is to take them out of the oven a few minutes before you think they actually need to be because they will continue to bake and while they weren’t “dry” they lost some of their chewiness!

1 1/2c. flour

1 1/2 c. quick oats

1 t. baking powder

1/4 t. salt

1/2 c. butter, softened

1/4 c. peanut butter (I used Jif creamy)

1 c. brown sugar (packed)

1/2 c. granulated sugar

2 eggs (mine are farm fresh from my dad)

chocolate chips (to your liking as my boys like a lot more than the norm)

Mix all flour, oats, baking power, & salt together and set aside.  Then cream your sugars with your softened butter.  Add eggs and beat until frothy then add peanut butter.  Finally, combine the wet and dry ingredients.  Thoroughly mix, but do not overmix.  Pour in a 9×13 pan, which I lined with parchment paper, making cleanup so easy!  Bake for 23-26 minutes (I’d lean closer to the 23) at 350.

Right before placing in the oven

Right before placing in the oven

T liked them as did I…so much that there weren’t any left for the boys to try when they were at our house on Wednesday.  I’m also proud to say that I only ate three of them, so the rest were all T!  I’ll call it a success and put another notch on my baking & cooking belt!

Best served warm & with milk!

Best served warm & with milk!

3 thoughts on “Chocolate, Peanut Butter…What’s Not to Love

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Please share them here!

