#TastyTuesday – Herb Roasted Crispy Skin Chicken

This past weekend T & I were discussing what to have for supper Sunday night.  On the Sunday nights when we don’t have the boys, we tend to have a bigger meal….usually roast, chicken, etc.  We had recently gotten some fresh farm-grown chickens from my dad and T wanted me to bake one, but he had one request…he wanted crispy skin!

 I have yet to roast a chicken with crispy skin and enough flavor for T’s liking, other than beer can chicken with Cookie’s seasoning on it.  He’s not a big fan, so I started doing some research on the internet on how to get crispy skin.  I then went to my spice cupboard as I’m not one to keep fresh herbs in the house and wouldn’t say that I have a large array of spices either, I started pondering what would go well together.  I finally settled on a few basics and came up with a very successful recipe.  I’m so proud of my crispy skin roasted chicken.  It was the first time that I put spices together and had them be successful!  It was the first time that I was able to roast a chicken with crispy skin to T’s liking!  Herb Roasted Crispy Skin Chicken

 

Start by fully thawing your whole chicken.  Pat the skin dry with a towel or paper towels.  Melt the butter in a bowl and add the spices. Stir well to combine the butter and seasoning.  Next, cut the lemon in half and squeeze the juice of one half into the melted spice butter.  Stir well again.  Stuff the other half of the lemon in the cavity of your chicken.  Then, using a basting brush, work the entire bowl of spiced butter onto the skin of your chicken.  (I did it in layers as to full cover the bird and to get a good seasoning on the entire bird.  Place your chicken in a roasting pan and bake uncovered for 1 1/2 – 2 hours at 375.

Spice Butter: Chicken ready for the oven: Herb Roasted Crispy Skin Chicken

Spice Butter: Chicken ready for the oven: Herb Roasted Crispy Skin Chicken

Enjoy!  I hope you like it as much as we did and I guess I can roast a crispy skin chicken! I feel as though I’m slowly coming into my own as a cook and providing for my family.  My mom has always been flawless at it and it’s taking me a little bit longer, but that’s ok…it’s all part of Learning as I Go.

2 thoughts on “#TastyTuesday – Herb Roasted Crispy Skin Chicken

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Please share them here!

