Tasty Tuesday: Twice Baked Potatoes

This past Sunday it was nice and warm here in Iowa, so T decided to throw some steaks on the grill for supper!  As I contemplated what to make to accompany it, I thought baked potatoes, but didn’t want any of the plain old baked potatoes.  I’d never attempted twice baked potatoes, but understood the general concept and also knew that they are one of T’s favorites, so I decided to give it a whirl!  Here’s what I came up with!

Twice Baked Potatoes

Preheat your oven to 400 and then start by scrubbing your potatoes clean.  Line a 9×13 cake pan with tin foil (easier clean up).  Drizzle some canola oil or olive oil (or whatever oil you choose) into the pan.  Roll the potatoes in the oil to coat all of the potato and sprinkle with salt.  Place tin foil over the top and bake for approximately 1 hour.  Remove the potatoes from the oven and let cool (mine cooled about an hour, which was more than enough).  Then, cut the potatoes in half and with a spoon carefully remove the innards of the potato, leaving just enough to keep the a good shape with the skin (think a potato boat).  Mix the potatoes, butter, sour cream, and milk together very well smashing the potatoes as you go (I also used some diced dried onions and pepper).  (I did not use a mixer as we like our potatoes lumpy.  I just used a large serving fork to break them up and mix and it worked well.)  Then, cut your bacon strips into small pieces into your potato mixture, add shredded cheese and then fill your potato boats.  Bake uncovered at 35o for 15-20 minutes.  I finished mine off by broiling them for about 5min to get the peaks golden!  (Of course, you can edit this as you like and add fresh onions and peppers, which I know T would enjoy, so maybe next time I’ll do half that way!)Enjoy!

 

1418756843288

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Please share them here!

