#TastyTuesday – Eating in St. Louis

This past weekend, R and I took a trip (courtesy of Air Choice One and the Clear Lake Chamber of Commerce) to see my father and mother in law who live about 30 minutes from downtown St. Louis (in Illinois). While there we ate some amazing food, so I’m going to veer from my typically #TastyTuesday post and give you two recommendations for food in the Greater St. Louis area!

The first place I’m going to recommend is Sawmill BBQ!  Sawmill is actually located in Cahokia, IL, which is just on the East side of St. Louis along the Mississippi River.  The location could scare a person off if you’re not from the area, as it is in a little rougher neighborhood and the restaurant is actually located on the site of a campgrounds, but don’t let that all lead you away!  Once you step in side and smell the smoked food, you  will be pleasantly surprised and instantly hungry!  When you walk in, you go through a line similar to a lunch line to place your order and pay for it.  Then, you seat yourself.  Shortly your

food will come to you in very large portions and piping hot!!  I chose the 2/3lb. of brisket…no, I didn’t eat it all, but it was only $1 more for that size and now my in-laws are enjoying leftovers!  That brisket was THE BEST brisket that I’ve ever had!  The smoke flavor was intense without being overwhelming, the brisket was tender, juicy and not fatty!  I chose onion rings and apple sauce as my side.  The onion rings were fried to perfection and the apple sauce appeared to be homemade and wasn’t too sweet!  Everyone in our party was pleased with their meal and I would go back (or have my in-laws deliver) in a heartbeat!  We visited with the owner for a brief moment and the hometown feel just adds to the greatness of this place.

The second place is Big Daddy’s in the Soulard district of St. Louis.  We chose this place due to its proximity to the Anheuser-Busch factory where we had just finished a tour! (Don’t worry, there is a blog post to follow coming about that!)  While this is an actual bar, they also have great food and at 4:15 on a Sunday afternoon, it was family friendly enough to take R (the 14yo).  We were greeted promptly and served our drinks.  We started to look the menu over when my FIL saw that they home make their own chips and so he decided we needed to try those!  And, they were so good that we ordered a second basket and at only $1.50 per basket you can’t go wrong!  We eventually ordered and when the food came everyone was raving about their choices, which ranged anywhere from a Reuben to a burger, steak sandwich, to a pizza.  But…not just any pizza.  I had what was probably THE BEST bacon

Bacon Cheeseburger Pizza from Big Daddy's in STL (Soulard district)

Bacon Cheeseburger Pizza from Big Daddy’s in STL (Soulard district)

cheeseburger pizza I’ve ever had.  They prepared my pizza on a flatbread, light sauce, then the cheese and topped with ground beef, crumbled bacon, diced pickles and tomatoes, and then…the special sauce. I don’t know what it was and frankly I don’t care because all that mattered was that it was YUMMY!  It was a 9 inch pizza and I ate the whole thing (in my defense, I hadn’t eaten since 10AM and I had gotten a run in that morning).

While I’m sure there are many great places to eat in the St. Louis area, I can’t help but feel like we found some diamonds in the rough!  If you’re ever in the area, I highly recommend you giving one or both a try!

 

And…don’t forget to Comment for A Cause this month: The Amy E. Hild Memorial Fund!

 

9 thoughts on “#TastyTuesday – Eating in St. Louis

  1. Pingback: Making Memories in St. Louis | Learning As I Go

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Please share them here!

