Eat Chicken, Save the Barrel!

In my previous post, we learned about the Barrel Drive-In and it’s supposed fate…until Seth Thackery (owner) put his dream and vision to work! Earlier this week I got to visit with my blogger friends and we all had lunch at the Barrel! YUMMY!

It wasn’t the first time I’ve eaten at the Barrel.  My aunt and uncle live in Clear Lake, the home of the Barrel, and so I’d feasted on this awesome broasted chicken a time or two, but I will admit…it had been a lot of years!  Upon arrival, I couldn’t help but be taken back the days when I was younger and life was simpler!  Icons like the giant Barrel, the Ice Cream Cone, & Cooper the Chicken greeted me and sent me back to my childhood!

The Barrel that Seth wants to get rotating again!

The Barrel that Seth wants to get rotating again!

The giant ice cream cone!  A favorite of mine when I was little!

The giant ice cream cone! A favorite of mine when I was little!

My #SelfiewithCooper

My #SelfiewithCooper

After taking our #SelfieswithCooper, we all headed inside and were instantly greeted by a smiling Seth and his small, but exceptional, crew!  They invited us in and encouraged us to take a seat in the dinning room and pick up the phone or call on the speaker when we were ready to order!  So…after looking around at the vintage decor, we did just that!

The interior of the Barrel really takes you back in time for that true Drive-In feel!

The interior of the Barrel really takes you back in time for that true Drive-In feel!

Sara gathered all of our orders and after trying to give them to the help over the speaker (we were all much too loud talking and giggling), she headed up and placed out order!  Shortly after our salads and drinks arrived!  Oh…the drinks!  The homemade root beer!  I like root bear, but this root beer was like none other that I’ve tasted.  It was smooth and mellow…no bite like most root beers and not too overly carbonated!  It was perfect!  A side salad is included in your meal and it was just the right amount to start off with.

The menu art hasn't changed much over the years!

The menu art hasn’t changed much over the years!

Shortly after, our waitress arrived with our meals!  Fresh, HOT, broasted chicken!  The flavor!  Oh, the flavor was so good.  It was juicy and crispy all at the same time.  Just the right amount of seasoning and perfect sized pieces!  (I ordered the 2 white piece meal with broasted potatoes.)  The potatoes were thick wedges with seasoning on the broasting, but not too much that you lost the potato flavor.  A dinner roll also accompanied the meal, but I never did touch that because I was way too full!

My lunch!  2 piece white chicken dinner with broasted potatoes!  It was Hot, Juicy, & Flavorful!

My lunch! 2 piece white chicken dinner with broasted potatoes! It was Hot, Juicy, & Flavorful!

After our meal, Seth joined us and shared some history with us!  Laughing, listening to the music from the 50’s, and enjoying the delicious chicken was a great way to spend a Wednesday lunch!

So…when are you going to visit the Barrel?

5 thoughts on “Eat Chicken, Save the Barrel!

  1. You managed to capture what we all were feeling, I think! You have the advantage on me that you actually grew up knowing about The Barrel so you have great memories to add to the current day story! Oh the chicken was soooo yummy!!! It really is some of the best chicken I have ever tasted.

    Like

  2. Pingback: North Iowa Bloggers + Oreos = Sugar High – It's Just Life

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Please share them here!