Tasty Tuesday: Taco Soup

The weather is turning more like fall and it’s cooling off! This time of year I always think of the yummy foods that I’ve “neglected” or opted not to eat all summer.  Soups, stews, roasts, cream based casseroles…all those types of things.  One of our favorites throughout the fall and winter is Taco Soup!  It’s so easy and so yummy!  The greatest thing for us (other than it being super yummy)is that it makes a big batch and freezes well, so we can have it for lunches later!  I hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

Taco Soup

  • 2lb. ground beef
  • 1 can whole kernel corn, drained
  • 1 can stewed tomatoes
  • 1 can Rotel (we use the traditional)taco soup
  • onion (I used dried because I don’t like biting into pieces of onion)
  • 1 packet taco seasoning (I use Ortega because they don’t produce with silicone…you know those tiny packets of “stuff” found in your shoe box or purse?)
  • 1 packet ranch seasoning

Brown your ground beef with your onion and drain.  Add veggies and seasoning to meat and place in soup pot.  Add water to your liking (for consistency and strength).  Bring to a boil and simmer.  I have definitely learned that this is better if it simmers for at least an hour and it typically gets spicier!    I like to serve with with warm bread or crispy tortillas!

7 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday: Taco Soup

  1. Taco soup brings back memories of the church that I worked at. They hat a Hot Dog Ministry (yes–they allied it a ministry) on Thursdays and a few years back they upped their game and added taco soup to their menu and it was a hit and stayed. I think their recipe is probably quadruple this one. 🙂 It is turning into “that” kind of weather, isn’t it???

    Like

  2. Pingback: So What Did YOU Do in the Blizzard? | It's Just Life

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Please share them here!